Local Church Discussions  

Go Back   Local Church Discussions > Introductions and Testimonies

Introductions and Testimonies Please tell everybody something about yourself. Tell us a little. Tell us a lot. Its up to you!

Old 12-31-2018, 10:53 PM   #1
Melo

Default My experience as a church kid: Why I want out

This is my first time posting here, so I thought I’d give myself kind of an introduction. My ultimate goal in posting this isn’t to ruminate in my dislike of Lee or the Local Churches, I just want to see if there’s anyone with a similar upbringing who has advice on disassociating themselves from the church without disassociating from their family.

I’ve been meeting with the church in a major city since the first grade. My parents stumbled into it and never left, so I’m definitely a church kid in every sense of the word. I remember being baptized at 13, going to Jr. High and High School meetings every Saturday night, attending pretty much every YP conference and beyond. While it’s an advantage that I am pretty fluent in the Recovery’s overall culture and vernacular, I constantly find it difficult to relate to my other Christian friends and ‘mainstream’ Christianity.