Local Church Discussions  

Go Back   Local Church Discussions > Alternative Views - Click Here to Start New Thread

Old 05-16-2015, 10:50 AM   #1
zeek

Default WWBLD 2.0

I can testify that the formula applied when I participated in the Local Churches [1973-1986] was to dumb all the music down to the lowest common denominator. As a guitarist I was directed to limit my playing to strumming in unison with the most basic rhythm. Any strumming pattern that was in the slightest bit interesting or finessed was rejected. Boring. Everything else was rejected as "soulish." According to that logic, playing chords in unison like a beginner must be spiritual. So, what was preached to be the activity of the "corporate body of Christ" was, in practice, merely cookie-cutter uniformity. Creativity was stifled. The only creativity that was allowed in the LC was Witness Lee's creative reading of the Bible.

Ken Gemmer- Church in Detroit, Church in Fort Lauderdale, Church in Miami 1973-86

zeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 01:43 PM   #2
awareness

Default Re: WWBLD 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeek View Post
I can testify that the formula applied when I participated in the Local Churches [1973-1986] was to dumb all the music down to the lowest common denominator. As a guitarist I was directed to limit my playing to strumming in unison with the most basic rhythm. Any strumming pattern that was in the slightest bit interesting or finessed was rejected. Boring. Everything else was rejected as "soulish." According to that logic, playing chords in unison like a beginner must be spiritual. So, what was preached to be the activity of the "corporate body of Christ" was, in practice, merely cookie-cutter uniformity. Creativity was stifled. The only creativity that was allowed in the LC was Witness Lee's creative reading of the Bible.