Local Church Discussions  

Go Back   Local Church Discussions > Introductions and Testimonies

Introductions and Testimonies Please tell everybody something about yourself. Tell us a little. Tell us a lot. Its up to you!

Old 05-31-2018, 11:11 AM   #1
EIFAMS

Default Personal Testimony (Brazil)

Grace and peace!
This is a first manifestation in the group and I would briefly report my testimony.
I'm a brother from Brazil and I'm still learning English, so I apologize in advance for any mistakes. Any questions, I can try to clarify later.
I will divide my account in three different moments, for a better understanding.

First moment

The local church in my city began in the 1980s. My father and grandfather were there when it all began. I am third generation in the local churches (or, as it is called, in the Lord's recovery). I was born in 1988. When I was born, my father was away, but in 1998, when I was 10 years old, my family came back to gather at the local church in our city. Since the 1980s we have been under the leadership of Brother Dong Yu Lan's ministry (DYL). But in 2008, after a trip from a brother from our city to the US to participate in a training, everything changed. So, from 2009, we have followed the leadership of LSM (blended co-workers). That same year (2009), Brother Dong Yu Lan was quarantined.

Second moment

In 2009 we discovered many things that were hidden from us. And they were secretly and deliberately hidden by DYL's leadership in Brazil. This resulted in the breakup with Brother DYL's ministry.

The breakup, however, was not simple and much less painless. It was dramatic. Painful. And everything was aggravated by DYL quarantine. In my locality there was much suffering: entire families were affected; some brothers returned to the denominations; others returned to the world; others, who were not even part of the local church, strongly criticized us; brothers saw themselves as enemies in the streets; curses were cast.